What are the Different Stages of the Sleep Cycle?

Sleep gummies can help you get your sleeping pattern back into sync. However, what are the different stages of sleep? We take a look before below, before you purchase some sleep gummies.

Stage 1 Sleep

This is the lightest stage of sleep. During this sleep stage, your EEG brain frequency will be slightly slower than the waking stage. Breathing will occur at a regular rate while muscle tone will be present in the skeletal muscles.

Stage 2 Sleep

This stage is similar to stage-1 sleep but a bit deeper. The sleeper will be less likely to be awakened during this stage of sleep. This stage is characterized by sleep spindles and sawtooth waves.

Stage 3 & 4 Sleep – Deep Sleep

These stages of sleep are deeper stages of sleep compared to stages 1 and 2 sleep. They are also known as SWS or slow-wave sleep. Delta sleep is another name given to stages 3 and 4 sleep. During these stages, your EEG will show a much slower frequency including delta waves or high amplitude of signals. It’s difficult to awaken a sleep in SWS. The latest studies reveal that even loud noises of over 100 decibels won’t awaken a sleeper in these stages. As you get older, you will spend less time in SWS sleep and more time in stage 2 sleep.

SWS sleep or slow-wave sleep is usually known as deep sleep. In fact, it’s comprised of the deepest stage of sleep NREM. Stage 3 sleep is characterized by the greatest arousal thresholds including difficulty in awakening. Even if awoken, the sleeper will feel quite groggy. In fact, cognitive tests have shown that a person awoken from stage 3 sleep tends to have a moderately impaired mental performance for about an hour or so. The phenomenon is called sleep inertia. Sleep deprivation occurs when there is a sharp rebound of slow-wave sleep, which shows the importance of SWS sleep. In fact, slow-wave sleep is a highly active state and isn’t a brain quiescence as believed earlier. The latest brain imaging data reveals that during non-REM sleep, regional brain activity is influenced by the most recent awakening experience of the individual.

Stage 5 Sleep – REM Sleep

Stage 5 sleep or REM sleep is the stage that is associated with dreaming. This stage of sleep is quite different physiologically from the other stages of sleep. The EEG of the sleeper will resemble waketime while the skeletal muscles are without movement or atonic. The breathing will become more irregular or erratic. The heart rate of the sleeper will increase during this stage. Studies show that muscle atonia occurs in order to protect the sleeper from injury during this stage of sleep.

If you’re interested, try a sleep gummy of ours – it’s tastes great and is made with non habit forming ingredients like CBD.

Leave a comment